Schiano defends line shift call on field goal attempt

9:28 PM, Oct 22, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Tampa, FL-- Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Greg Schiano today defended his call for a line shift on a Saints field goal attempt on Sunday.

Schiano said he called the same play during the Redskins game last month, and no penalty was called.

On Sunday, the referee called an unsportsmanlike penalty on the Bucs for trying to get the Saints' line to move before the snap. Schiano was livid at the time, but on Monday admitted he probably wouldn't make that call again.

"I know what we do, and I feel very comfortable with it," said Schiano. "The fact of the matter is it got called on Sunday, and I don't know if it would be a good idea to look for that one anymore, because that would be downright stubborn of me. As far as I'm concerned, it was a legal play."

The 15-yard penalty extended the Saints' drive, and it resulted in the eventual game-winning touchdown.

10 News

Most Watched Videos