Perry rallies to win PGA Professional

2:49 AM, Jun 27, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Sunriver, OR (Sports Network) - Rod Perry closed with a 3-under 69 on Wednesday and rallied to win the 46th PGA Professional National Championship.

Perry, who led after the second round, finished at 10-under-par 277 at the Sunriver Resort's Crosswater Course.

Ryan Polzin and Jeff Sorenson both closed with 1-under 71s. Polzin ended alone in second place at minus-7, while Sorenson grabbed third at 5-under 282.

Mark Sheftic and Chip Sullivan, the third-round leaders, both stumbled to 4- over 76s to drop into a share of fourth place at 4-under 283. They ended alongside three-time winner Mike Small (72) and JC Anderson (67).

Perry played a solid front-nine with birdies at two and six to go along with seven pars. He birdied the 10th to move to minus-10. Perry traded a bogey for a birdie from the 15th, before making par at the final two holes to seal the win.

Bob Sowards closed with a 73 to take eighth at minus-2, while David Muttitt (70), Mark Brown (70), David McNabb (71), Kirk Hanefeld (73) and Sonny Skinner (73) shared ninth at 1-under-par 286.

The previous 13 players mentioned all qualified to play in this year's PGA Championship at Oak Hill Country Club.

The remaining qualifiers were Stuart Smith, Jeffrey Martin, Lee Rhind, Caine Fitzgerald, Rob Labritz, Danny Balin and Bob Gaus.

Balin and Gaus birdied the first playoff hole to survive a 6-for-3 playoff. On the second extra hole, Labritz chipped out of a fairway bunker, then holed his third shot for birdie. The other three couldn't match and the final of the 20 available spots in PGA Championship went to Labritz.

The Sports Network