Feds approve additional assistance for Florida

3:56 PM, Jul 9, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +



TALLAHASSEE, Florida (AP) - The federal government has approved public assistance for 20 counties included in the federal disaster declaration resulting from Tropical Storm Debby's visit to the state.

Eight deaths were attributed to last month's storm, in addition to the flooding and wind damage in some parts of Florida.

The counties included in Monday's announcement are

  • Baker
  • Charlotte
  • Citrus
  • Clay
  • Columbia
  • Dixie
  • Franklin
  • Gulf
  • Hamilton
  • Hernando
  • Jefferson
  • Lafayette
  • Liberty
  • Manatee
  • Nassau
  • Pasco
  • Sarasota
  • Suwannee
  • Union
  • Wakulla

Public assistance provides grant assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures. Costs for repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly-owned facilities can also be covered.

Additionally, individual assistance was approved for Duval, Nassau and Union counties in northeast Florida. That makes federal and state assistance available to individuals and families.

Most Watched Videos