Tampa teacher named Teacher of the Year

3:03 PM, Jul 10, 2009   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) -- A Tampa elementary school teacher has been named Florida's teacher of the year.  

Megan Allen was announced as the 2010 Teacher of the Year at a ceremony Thursday night.

The Cleveland Elementary School teacher was chosen from more than 180,000 teachers statewide.

She will receive $10,000, a $1,000 wardrobe and a free trip for four to New York to see this year's Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

The other finalists were Patricia Fairclough, of Miami-Dade County; Emily Barbacci, of Leon County; Melissa Reiker, of Orange County; and Marilynn Pedek, of Palm Beach County. Each finalist received $5,000, a Macy's $500 gift card and a $1,000 grant for their schools.

Emmy Award-winning journalist Deborah Norville was master of ceremonies for the Orlando event.


(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Most Watched Videos