6 more counties to receive federal disaster funds due to Tropical Storm Debby

2:44 PM, Jul 7, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +



Tallahassee - Floridians affected by Tropical Storm Debby will soon receive federal disaster funds and emergency resources to help them on their paths to recovery. 

In response to Governor Scott's request for assistance on Tuesday for funding for affected counties, the federal declaration was amended to include six additional counties. The declaration makes federal and state Individual Assistance available to individuals and families for Clay, Franklin, Hernando, Highlands, Pinellas, and Suwannee counties. As Preliminary Damage Assessments are completed, additional counties may be added to the declaration.

Related stories:

Tropical Storm Debby made landfall June 27 in Steinhatchee, FL. Impacts from the storm were felt statewide. The primary concern from Tropical Storm Debby was the prolific amount of rainfall and the resulting flooding impacts. Six rivers across Florida reached major flood stage, and two rivers, the Sopchoppy and the St. Marys, reached record breaking crests.

Tropical Storm Debby photos:

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated county can begin applying for assistance starting today by registering online at http://www.disasterassistance.gov, by web enabled mobile device at m.fema.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. 


Most Watched Videos