Obama declares 11 Florida counties disaster areas after damage from Hurricane Isaac

9:59 AM, Oct 19, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +



WASHINGTON - President Obama has declared 11 Florida counties a disaster area for damage sustained during Hurricane Isaac.

The declaration signed Thursday makes federal funding available to state local governments.

Isaac hit Florida in late August. The Tampa Bay Times reports the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Gov. Rick Scott's request for funding in September. Isaac hit Florida in late August.

Scott moved to appeal the decision. He said the damage was about $10 million worse than originally thought. Damage from Isaac is estimated at 36.6 million.

The Times reports it was unclear why the decision was reversed.

The following counties are now eligible for federal funding: Bay, Collier, Escambia, Franklin, Martin, Monroe, Okaloosa, Palm Beach, St. Lucie and Santa Rose counties.